Page 1 of 1

Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:23 am
by trevor826
Filmfour Ghibli season, film four are premiering eight anime films with a Miyazaki connection, films include:

Princess Mononoke
Nausica Of The Valley Of The Wind
The Castle Of Cagliostro
Kiki's Delivery Service
Porco Rosso
1960's classic Little Norse Prince

and more!

What a brilliant way to start the New Year.

Cheers Trev.

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:24 pm
by A
Wow, lucky you.
Hope you can give us some comments on the 1960 classic. Nowadays if you follow the reception, it seems as though anime has only begun in the 80s

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:11 pm
by trevor826
Yes can't wait for that one, also Porco Rosso. I have the others on DVD and need to comment on most of them.

Cheers Trev.

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:21 am
by arsaib4
Isn't there some sort of a boxset coming out in the U.K. also?

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:31 pm
by trevor826
I must admit I haven't got a clue, do you know anything?

Cheers Trev.

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 6:03 am
by arsaib4
It looks like Optimum will be releasing Ghibli films in small sets over the next few months.

Miyazaki's Porco Rosse and Isao Takahatas Pom Poko are coming up on Jan 30. Then it's Laputa Castle in the Sky and My Neighbour Totoro in Feb. And Whisper of the Heart and Princess Mononoke in April. Howl's Moving Castle and Kiki's Delivery Service are also coming up shortly.

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:04 pm
by trevor826
Great news, I'm definitely up for Porco Rosse and Pom Poko but I already have the others apart from Howl's Moving Castle.

Optimum aren't doing themselves any favours with their marketing, I had no idea that The Little Norse Prince had been released on dvd and that's despite reading various mags and having good connections with most of the local retail and rental shops.

Cheers Trev.

Re: Great News for UK Anime Fans.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:36 am
by trevor826
Since my first post they've added more, full details below.

Princess Mononoke shows Sun 1, Thur 5 Jan, Sat 4, Wed 8 Feb

Little Norse Prince shows Sat 7, Wed 11 Jan

The Castle Of Cagliostro shows Sun 8, Thur 12 Jan

Nausica Of The Valley Of The Wind shows Sat 14, Wed 18 Jan

Pom Poko shows Sun 15, Thur 19 Jan

Laputa: Castle In The Sky shows Sat 21, Wed 25 Jan

Kiki's Delivery Service shows Sun 22, Thur 26 Jan

Only Yesterday shows Sat 28 Jan at 6pm, Wed 1 Feb at 6pm

Porco Rosso shows Sun 29 Jan, Thur 2 Feb

Grave Of The Fireflies shows Sat 4 Feb at 2am, Wed 8 Feb at 1.45am

The Cat Returns shows Sun 5, Thur 9 Feb

Brilliant season especially for those who have only seen one or two.

Cheers Trev.